A CoinTracker plan provides access to capital gains and losses insights and tax reporting. Our plans are priced based on the number of transactions completed in the last calendar year.
Our system will automatically suggest the most suitable plan for you based on your previous calendar year's transaction count. When you sign up, this information is displayed at the bottom of each plan option on the Subscriptions page. Click the i symbol next to the transaction number to view more details about how transactions are counted towards that plan.
Annual renewals
CoinTracker plans automatically renew annually on the original purchase date, ensuring continuous access to upcoming tax reports. Your plan renews on the same plan at that plan's current price, shown on the plans page. We do not move you to a different plan at renewal.
Before your renewal date, your renewal notice asks you to check that your plan still fits your transaction count and links to the plans page. If your current plan no longer fits your transaction needs, change your plan before your renewal date.
The Ultra+ plan comes in two options: up to 25,000 transactions or up to 50,000 transactions. If you are on the 50,000-transaction option and have 25,000 or fewer transactions, you can switch to the 25,000-transaction option before your renewal date. If your plan has already renewed, contact our support team for help.
Note that the date you renew your subscription may impact access to tax forms.
When upgrading your plan is necessary
If you purchased the recommended plan and are later asked to upgrade, it indicates that your transaction counts have changed since your initial purchase. This could be due to:
- Addition of previously unaccounted transaction history: For example, if you added a forgotten wallet with transactions from the previous calendar year, this can push your transaction count beyond the initial plan limit.
- Incomplete syncing of transactions at purchase: If wallets were added just before purchasing and all transactions weren't fully synced at that time, the increased transaction count may exceed your current plan's limit.
In these cases, an upgrade to a higher plan is necessary. Learn how to manage your plan and about our plans and pricing.
Note: If you are on the 25,000-transaction Ultra+ option and go over 25,000 transactions, upgrade to the 50,000-transaction option through the same upgrade flow. You pay only the difference between the two options.
How upgrade charges work
While it might seem like double billing, you are only charged the difference between the two plans upon upgrading. The sum of all payments aligns with the correct plan based on your final transaction count for the previous calendar year.
Example: Plan upgrade charge
- In January 2024, Frances uploads 100 transactions from 2023 and selects the Base plan, which includes a yearly limit of 100 transactions.
- Later, she adds a missed wallet with 60 more transactions.
- Her total for 2023 rises to 160 transactions, exceeding the Base plan limit.
- When prompted to upgrade to the Base+ plan which supports up to 250 transactions, she only pays the difference since she already paid for the Base plan.